heyanniemok:

I PUT A SPELL ON YOU: A night of comics & stories in Toronto
Tuesday May 6 @ 7pm
The Pilot Tavern
22 Cumberland St.
Toronto, ON
FB event: http://tinyurl.com/nx56brq
Annie Mok, Sophia Foster-Dimino, Michael DeForge, Kelly Kwang, and Georgia Webber read comics via projector; game maker merritt kopas debuts a prose story; and artist and printmaker Sab Meynert talks about transitioning from a comic & zine context to the fine art world. A short moderated discussion between the panelists, and an audience Q&A follow the presentations. Annie Mok emcees this special pre-TCAF night of comics & stories at the Pilot Tavern!
FEATURING:
merritt kopas
consensual torture simulator
mkopas.net / @m_kopas
Sab Meynert
Blacktooth
sabmeynert.com / @sabmeynert
Georgia Webber
DUMB
georgiasdumbproject.com / @gee_webber
Michael DeForge
Ant Colony, Lose, A Body Beneath
kingtrash.com / @Michael_DeForge
Sophia Foster-Dimino
Sex Fantasy
hellophia.com / @hellophia
Annie Mok
Screentests, Vertigo’s CMYK
cargocollective.com/heyanniemok / heyanniemok.tumblr.com / @HeyAnnieMok / facebook.com/heyanniemok

Special thanks to The Pilot, TCAF, and Miles Baker~

I will be doing this talk as part of TCAF!!!! COME GET TO KNOW ME and all these really cool people <3

heyanniemok:

I PUT A SPELL ON YOU: A night of comics & stories in Toronto

Tuesday May 6 @ 7pm

The Pilot Tavern

22 Cumberland St.

Toronto, ON

FB event: http://tinyurl.com/nx56brq

Annie Mok, Sophia Foster-Dimino, Michael DeForge, Kelly Kwang, and Georgia Webber read comics via projector; game maker merritt kopas debuts a prose story; and artist and printmaker Sab Meynert talks about transitioning from a comic & zine context to the fine art world. A short moderated discussion between the panelists, and an audience Q&A follow the presentations. Annie Mok emcees this special pre-TCAF night of comics & stories at the Pilot Tavern!

FEATURING:

merritt kopas

consensual torture simulator

mkopas.net / @m_kopas

Sab Meynert

Blacktooth

sabmeynert.com / @sabmeynert

Georgia Webber

DUMB

georgiasdumbproject.com / @gee_webber

Michael DeForge

Ant Colony, Lose, A Body Beneath

kingtrash.com / @Michael_DeForge

Sophia Foster-Dimino

Sex Fantasy

hellophia.com / @hellophia

Annie Mok

Screentests, Vertigo’s CMYK

cargocollective.com/heyanniemok / heyanniemok.tumblr.com / @HeyAnnieMok / facebook.com/heyanniemok

Special thanks to The Pilot, TCAF, and Miles Baker~

I will be doing this talk as part of TCAF!!!! COME GET TO KNOW ME and all these really cool people <3

woweezonk:

We are so happy to announce that thanks to the very generous people at The Beguiling and TCAF we are curating a small press room yet again this year!!! ♥♥♥
We’ve a really sweet lineup for 2014, so please do stop by the Wowee Zonk Small Press Area @ the Toronto Reference Library on May 10th &amp; 11th ☺.☺
Our area will include the following awesomeee list of artists/publishers: 
Chris Kuzma - www.chriskuzma.comPatrick Kyle - www.patrickkyle.comGinette Lapalme - www.ginettelapalme.comClosed Caption Comics - www.closedcaptioncomics.blogspot.caMark ConneryMarc Bell - www.marcbelldept.blogspot.caAmy Lockhart - www.amylockhart.caBreakdown Press - www.breakdownpress.comKeith Jones - www.keithcomics.tumblr.comRyan Dodgson - www.rjdodgson.tumblr.comPhil Woollam - www.philwoollam.tumblr.comLauren Albert - www.plslala.comAdam Buttrick - www.adambuttrick.comAndy Burkholder - www.andyburkholder.blogspot.caSab Meynert - www.sabmeynert.comEric Williams - www.ericdraws.comLale Westvind - www.lalewestvind.blogspot.caMichael Comeau - www.comeaumichael.blogspot.caRosena Fung - www.rosenafung.comSelena Wong - www.selenawong.comJuli Majer - www.wimpi.tumblr.comSpace Face Books - www.spacefacebooks.comEunice Luk - www.euniceluk.comAlabaster - www.illustriousalabaster.comEthan Rilly - www.popehats.caOCADU Student Table Crew
We can’t wait to see you there!!! 

I will be debuting blacktooth 2 plus lots of secret goods here along with e howey! yaaaa thank you wowee zonk

woweezonk:

We are so happy to announce that thanks to the very generous people at The Beguiling and TCAF we are curating a small press room yet again this year!!! ♥♥♥

We’ve a really sweet lineup for 2014, so please do stop by the Wowee Zonk Small Press Area @ the Toronto Reference Library on May 10th & 11th ☺.☺

Our area will include the following awesomeee list of artists/publishers: 

Chris Kuzma - www.chriskuzma.com
Patrick Kyle - www.patrickkyle.com
Ginette Lapalme - www.ginettelapalme.com
Closed Caption Comics - www.closedcaptioncomics.blogspot.ca
Mark Connery
Marc Bell - www.marcbelldept.blogspot.ca
Amy Lockhart - www.amylockhart.ca
Breakdown Press - www.breakdownpress.com
Keith Jones - www.keithcomics.tumblr.com
Ryan Dodgson - www.rjdodgson.tumblr.com
Phil Woollam - www.philwoollam.tumblr.com
Lauren Albert - www.plslala.com
Adam Buttrick - www.adambuttrick.com
Andy Burkholder - www.andyburkholder.blogspot.ca
Sab Meynert - www.sabmeynert.com
Eric Williams - www.ericdraws.com
Lale Westvind - www.lalewestvind.blogspot.ca
Michael Comeau - www.comeaumichael.blogspot.ca
Rosena Fung - www.rosenafung.com
Selena Wong - www.selenawong.com
Juli Majer - www.wimpi.tumblr.com
Space Face Books - www.spacefacebooks.com
Eunice Luk - www.euniceluk.com
Alabaster - www.illustriousalabaster.com
Ethan Rilly - www.popehats.ca
OCADU Student Table Crew

We can’t wait to see you there!!! 

I will be debuting blacktooth 2 plus lots of secret goods here along with e howey! yaaaa thank you wowee zonk

and here is the final illustration commission from november in all its glory! This one was really different; as you may or may not know i&#8217;m synesthetic and for this I was asked to use it to interpret 5 of the person&#8217;s favourite songs. I chose to flesh out the rhythmic patterns as shapes and use line/colour for audible focal points that I felt was appropriate. I really need to buy a camera so I can photograph the metallic details rather than scanning&#8230;. anyway! Thanks to peter for this request! 

and here is the final illustration commission from november in all its glory! This one was really different; as you may or may not know i’m synesthetic and for this I was asked to use it to interpret 5 of the person’s favourite songs. I chose to flesh out the rhythmic patterns as shapes and use line/colour for audible focal points that I felt was appropriate. I really need to buy a camera so I can photograph the metallic details rather than scanning…. anyway! Thanks to peter for this request! 

Before I post the last commission I  have left from november’s campaign, I thought i’d change it up. I’m working for the next two months for a lot of upcoming events; 

Everything will be announced as it comes, but here’s some studio shots while you wait. When going through periods like this that require such solitude, it’s nice to take a step back for a bit and look at the environment you’ve created, in whatever fashion by whatever means it may be. I always find it really interesting to see the studios of fellow artists and friends, so I thought i’d share too.

Here&#8217;s another commission from November,This one was about the interconnectivity of life and also aimed to reflect the person&#8217;s love for the ocean &amp; space. I used a LOT of metallic gouache and I need to get better at documenting that, but here it is! It was fun to do, since we share interests. Thanks to Amy for this request!

Here’s another commission from November,

This one was about the interconnectivity of life and also aimed to reflect the person’s love for the ocean & space. I used a LOT of metallic gouache and I need to get better at documenting that, but here it is! It was fun to do, since we share interests. Thanks to Amy for this request!